Il Giardino dŽItalia
Terracotta from the Tuscany - the Garden of Italy

The Origin

Basically there are two areas of Tuscany famous for the production of terracotta products - the region around Sienna and the village of Impruneta in the hills of Chianti. Both of these areas have been famous for their clay work since Etruscan times and it is still true that the highest-quality, hand-made terracotta products are made here.

Machine-produced terracotta products will not be mentioned here as they are produced in a totally different way and are of inferior quality.

The difference in the clay quality between terracotta from Sienna and Impruneta is a result of the unique composition of the soil in the Impruneta region. It is only this earth with its unusually high mineral, aluminium, copper and iron oxide content which, when fired at 1,000°C, fuse together and give the terracotta products their high durability and frost resistance.

You can read about the differences in quality of the "terracotta d'Impruneta" in the report published by the trade publication "Floristik International" (1/97 edition) (Read English Translation of the report here.) Unfortunately, as a result of the forces of supply and demand, many old terracotta producers have started using clay mixtures instead.

This is the reason why our Impruneta collection only contains terracotta products from "Luciana Biliotti®" which owe their good reputation to the exclusive use of pure, unadulterated clay.


The Production:

Learn more about the reasons
why our terracotta is of
outstanding quality.





     

© 1998 Cyrano Kommunikation GmbH

Il Giardino d´Italia
Terracotta aus der Toskana - dem Garten Italiens

Die Herkunft

Grundsätzlich gibt es zwei bekannte Terracotta Herstellungsgebiete in der Toskana: Die Region um Siena & das Dörfchen Impruneta in der Hügellandschaft des Chianti. Diese beiden Gebiete sind seit der Zeit der Etrusker für ihre Tonverarbeitung bekannt und aus dieser Region stammen bis heute die handgefertigten qualitativ hochwertigen Terracotten.

Maschinenproduzierte Terracotten sollen hier nicht weiter erwähnt werden, weil es sich hierbei um eine gänzlich andere Produktion und Qualität handelt.

Der Unterschied der Tonqualitäten zwischen Siena- und Impruneta-Terracotta ist die weltweit einzigartige Zusammensetzung der Erde in der Impruneta Region. Nur diese Erde besitzt die außergewöhnlich hohen Anteile an Mineralien, Aluminium-, Kupfer- und Eisenoxyden, die beim Brennen von ca. 1000 Grad miteinander verschmelzen und den Terracotten dadurch ihre Langlebigkeit und hohe Frostresistenz geben.

Im dem Bericht der Fachzeitschrift "Floristik International" (Ausgabe 1/97) lesen Sie über die Qualitätsunterschiede der Terracotta d´Impruneta. Leider hat die hohe Nachfrage viele alte Terracotta Manufakturen dazu bewegt, Tongemische zu verarbeiten.

Wir haben daher bei unserer Impruneta Kollektion ausschließlich Terracotten der Manufaktur "Luciana Biliotti®", die sich ihren guten Namen durch die Verwendung von sauberem und unverfälschtem Ton erlangt hat.


Die Herstellung:

Erfahren Sie mehr darüber,
warum unser Terracotta so
besonders ist.





     

© 1998 Cyrano Kommunikation GmbH